TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Tablecloth fashion and other stories

FA Cup final day and, despite the ominous threat of breaking all my superstitions, the lure of being able to watch it live was too much to bear. Unlike the Premier League, the Champions League and the Carabao Cup, the FA Cup is, for some reason, not shown on DAZN: it's on regular cable, which in my self-aggrandizing iconoclastic manner, I refuse to get. 

So off we went to the Patenaude Palace. 

This was also the first time we had gone into someone else's house since the start of the pandemic. Having all just had the virus, it seemed safe enough. Besides, I held my breath for 120+ minutes, so there was little danger of airborne transmission, aerosol or otherwise.

Apart from the obvious pleasure of beating Chelsea on penalties. Mitch's choice of tablecloth was the highlight of the day. That and the egg frittata he made us for pre-match snack. It's days like this that make you a little more hopeful about the future.

Ottawacker Jr. had his first pre-season friendly in the afternoon. Mrs. Ottawacker picked him up and dropped him off, then came back to pick me up and drive me there: a shameful waste of petrol, but there was no way I was going to miss the penalty shoot out for a pre-season friendly. 

So I guess that makes me a terrible parent? Extra photos of Ottawacker Jr's game and the Hendo shuffle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.