Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Yellow rattle

Plus unidentified odd looking fly - I've wasted quite some time trying to get an identity from Google - if anyone can help, I'd be grateful.

I had a lovely morning playing Handel in a chamber music group.

After lunch, W returned to the workshop, where he is building a hedgehog house, and I played in the studio for a while - my latest project is progressing very slowly.  

Later, I had a wander around the garden with the camera - no sun, and threatening to rain.  Pleased to see that there is plenty of yellow rattle (aka meadow maker because it suppresses the vigorous grasses and allows meadow plants to get established) in the meadow, I decided to take a photo.  I saw this slightly odd looking fly (more cropped view in extras), but when I tried to get a better angle, it departed.  What I didn't realise until I got the photo up on the computer screen was that there is a little blue/grey centre (stamen?) to the yellow rattle flower.

We continue to use up stuff in the freezer - last few scampi pieces, and two almost empty packets of wedges finished today, with fresh salad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.