What a day. I was up at 5.30am to get the dogs walked so we could get to the yard to get Jack ready for the show. We've had a brilliant day and so so proud of Eva as she conquered her nerves and got some great results.

We started off with dressage. It was intro A again but being outdoors it was a totally different environment. We had to rush straight over to do the lead rein jumping after it so didn't get the results. We went clear in the lead rein jumping and then I made an error in the jump off and turned him in a circle (because I couldn't keep up with Mr Speedy pants) so we got faults but we got a lovely purple rosette for sixth place. Eva was a bit upset and I felt bad. 

I hadn't told her that I'd entered her in the next class which was 40cm assisted. She freaked when I told her, said she didn't want to do it but with a bit of persuasion said she'd give it a go if I led her. It ended up being the best experience. I tricked her telling her I wasn't going to use the lead rope but just hold on to his bridle as I knew he'd just go so much better for her than being hindered by her unfit mum huffing and puffing alongside! After fence one I let go and ran alongside, then dropped back and just cut between the fences. She had a super round and went clear. Before the jump off we had to go and do the first ridden class. Jack totally switched off and the judge had to lead her out of the line up to do her individual show (such a lovely friendly show) but she still managed to come 4th. Then we had to dash back to the jump off. I employed the same tactics and they went clear again. Jack really leapt one of the fences and Eva was not unseated at all. This is massive massive progress as she's not jumped anything bigger than a tiny cross pole before and it was super brave of her doing it at a show. She was so made up and I was so proud of her. The icing on the cake was a rosette for FIRST place!! We couldn't believe it. 

With all the excitement we nearly forgot to go back and get our dressage score sheet and were amazed to find she also came first in that!! A super haul of rosettes from a super day out.

Needless to say we're all shattered tonight. Mike back from his biking weekend later than planned after having to get the AA out to Gerty (electrical fault). But he had a great weekend too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.