Returning from a fast taxy

Rode up to Wellesbourne-Mountford airfield, near Stratford-on-Avon today to see XM655 perform her splendid, nosewheel up, fast taxy run. Quite a lot of expertise required, not only because the runway was wet today but also because it's only 3000 feet long. A Vulcan requires a runway length of 9000 feet for a take off. She wasn't taking off, of course, but to attain the speed to get the nosewheel up, down, and brake before the end of the runway takes some doing.
I've made a video of the ride there (heavily edited of course, to cut out the M5 and lots of just long roads with gentle curves. I've kept in the lovely villages I passed while following a long diversion due to the A46 being closed.
I'll publish the video URL when it gets uploaded to YouTube. The video is currently saving, takes a while. About 3/4 of the way through I have pictures and video of XM655.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.