Playing Today

Playing Today
Watched a YouTube yesterday about reversing a lens on a camera in order to increase the magnification of an image without the need for a macro lens. 
Going back to the beginning of Lockdown 1 I seem to remember Paul and Ann looking at 'extreme magnification'. At that time I purchased a lens reversing ring.
Today seem the ideal opportunity to revisit the method. 
Dining 'al fresco' at lunchtime today I noticed this rather nice 'Geum coccineim Queen of Orange' sitting on the table and I though that would be a good subject.
The only lens I had handy with manual adjustment of the aperture was my Helios 58mm f/2.8 Legacy lens. Actually my Olympus 50mm f/1.8 had a manual aperture BUT the filter thread was damaged :(
I set the camera up on a focus rail, put the Helios 58mm lens on 65mm of extension tubes. lite the flower with an Adaptorlux Studio lamp and took a number of shots at different distances to be able to focus stack the images in Helicon Focus. Lens set to f/8 and 400iso
I then repeated the process with my 100mm Canon f/2.8 lens mounted directly on the camera. 
In both cases I had the lens focused on infinity. The images are as they came out of the camera, no exposure adjustments etc.
The results 
- The 100mm macro lens was about half the magnification of the 58mm Helios lens. 
- Quality was better on the Macro lens - there may have been camera shake on the Helios even though I waited between each shot for any adjustment vibrations to stop.
Certainly more experimentation to do when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.