WARBLING

We went to the reservoir this morning, the first time in several years, and the trees were full of birds singing. My book of warblers tells me (I think) that this is a Sedge Warbler, even though it was up a hawthorn tree and nowhere near sedge. I also spotted my favourite beetle, the golden-bloomed grey longhorn beetle (Agapanthia villosoviridescens), in fact two on the same plant, though I couldn't get them both in focus in the same shot. On hearing me exclaim, B immediately called them Paul and George which shows our vintage!

This time last year I was just beginning my two weeks of extremely unpleasant jury service. Not an experience I want to repeat, although theoretically there's still time before I'm too old. Three times is enough, though, I reckon.

And back on the subject of warbling, I'm rejoining the choir tonight after nearly two-and-a-half years. Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.