Some bottle

I set up a new journal sixteen months ago to talk about my 'exciting' building project and I posted three blips before I couldn't face it any more. The reason everything has taken so frustratingly long is because two years ago I agreed to build together with my next-door neighbours who also wanted an extension. We were blinded by the advantages: we could fill some of the space between our houses and we could share some of the costs.

We had no idea then what the disadvantages would be: 14 months waiting for planning permission because the council could not get their incompetent, legalistic heads round what we wanted to do (they rejected the first deed signed by me, my neighbours and their mortgage company because although it had a bright red seal it was on the wrong sort of paper) which meant that our building time was pushed into the current acute shortage of construction materials and escalating costs.

If I'd gone it alone, my build would be done by now, at far less than I'm going to have to pay.

We also didn't realise how much we would have to agree on. That could have gone very badly but luckily we agreed very quickly (back in January) which builder we didn't want and agreed that we were happy with two others. Then we waited and waited and waited for their costings. And waited. One of the builders vanished. Recently another appeared. We've all had qualms about this one so today we went together to look at an extension he built last year and to talk with the owner. Our uncertainties evaporated and we have agreed to commission him.

To get there I cycled along the sunny river towpath. My neighbours left home after me and got there (and back) before me because they drove. I could have had a lift, of course, but I needed the exercise, it was far too beautiful a morning to miss and I want as little to do with fossil fuel use as I can manage (and this week I'm avoiding closed spaces with other people in).

This bridge has featured before but not with a bottle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.