Detective work

After an initial burst of enthusiasm for housework, I made the mistake of sitting down at the computer with the intention of spending half-an-hour continuing my attempt to track down the elusive William Henry Davies, my great grandfather. Half a day later, my screen was beginning to look like the whiteboard in some of those TV detective series - covered in sticky notes hopefully containing information that will lead to the 'suspect'!

On two census forms (1891 and 1901) William Henry's place of birth is shown as Cardiff, Wales. On the third it's given as Hoxton, London. Hmmm, where to start? On previous occasions I've wasted spent hours assuming that he was born in Cardiff. Today, assuming Hoxton as his birthplace, a couple of promising leads have emerged...
Watch this space!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.