The wooded grassland on Minchinhampton Common

I went up on to Minchinhampton Common to see the newly released herds of cows belonging to those with Commoner's Rights to graze them there. They were allowed to be released on Marking Day, which was last Friday,. but we were busy in the market.

I drove around the extensive natural Cotswold limestone grassland that is maintained by the National Trust who own the land but saw only a few cows. I particularly didn't see the herd of highland cows which I love. I will have to return soon. 

The picture of of the wooded grassland area close to Minchinhampton church and the village, which the cows are able to roam through at their will only restricted by those who build cattle grids in their garden driveways. I love the spread of buttercups which will soon be decimated by the cows munching contentedly. The grass rides are made by local people walking out of the village and horse riders who like the flat and even landscape, which are relatively rare in these hilly parts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.