Genius loci

It's not just me that gets excited about wells. I had a message from Anne, would i like to come and inspect a well near her house. Is the Pope Catholic? I nipped over this morning and we went off to explore before the rain hit. The wellhouse is an impressive thing, nicely built with stone but currently dry. The general opinion is that it's not holy but was simply a good source of water. Some research required.
Anne is an artist and ecologist and we had a very enjoyable wander around her garden - all indigenous plants and much meadow. She then fed me fresh nettle soup and walnut bread and sent me home with a some healthy biscuits and a scoby  with which to start my own kombucha!  I shall report how I get on. 
On the way home the heavens opened - a monsoon, there will be water in that well by now!
And the morning started with another well hunter. I have been in correspondence with an American orthodox monk/priest who arrived in Ireland on Monday on a whirlwind pilgrimage. A message pinged into my  inbox this morning during breakfast - am I in the right place, plus photo. Well, only sort of ... photos and google map coordinates were flying back and forth but I think he was in the wrong part of the wood. He's now safely on Valentia Island. 
Off to see an Cailín Ciúin tonight which has had wonderful reviews. I shall report back.
Backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.