Cycling at Lochbuie and Loch Spelve

We knew today was going to be good weatherwise until the gales returned this evening. So we headed down to Lochbuie where I was looking forward to sampling the Old Post Office cafe which opened after we were last here in 2019 . It was fabulous - on the site of the old ‘trust’ shop . We bought a local ‘ready meal ‘ for supper.
The bay was wild and windy . Just beautiful. We cycled from Loch Brie back to Loch Spelve, passed the Old Pier at Croggan where cattle used to be landed for the islands.
It was idyllic - just as I had pictured in my mind when I had thought about cycling here by the lochs. Lots of waterfalls and rills and the mountains at their best in the sunlight.
Several people seem to own peacocks around this Loch so we had not only the accompaniment of the cuckoo but the call of a peacock too ! 
To cap the day, there were lots of folk with long lenses and as we cycled back there was an otter happily fishing and swimming . It brought its catch on to some nearby rocks . Just wonderful . I didn’t have my camera to capture it but it didn’t matter, The joy was in observing it in that moment !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.