caitjob

By caitjob

Sunset over La Defense

It was ridiculously warm and sunny today so after a quick trip to the market and the bakery for supplies (during which I got stared at for my summery clothes while everyone else was in puffa jackets- I think it was nearly 30 degrees) we headed into Paris to a park for a picnic. We went to Buttes Chaumont which was quite nice and quite busy as everyone else had similar ideas, it wasn't very touristy though which was nice and there was a suspension bridge over a lake. It's apparently a former quarry.

After lunch and a little wander we headed to Montmatre so I could show Martin the Sacré Coeur and we could generally explore. I really like Montmatre, it was fairly busy though so we mainly stuck to the back streets. We had some cider in a café while we waited to go see the sunset from the Arc de Triomphe. It was rather nice and I took lots of pictures. I quite like the fact the sun sets pretty much over my house. We waited to see the Eiffel Tower's lights switch on and then sparkle on the hour. Still not sure if it's horribley tacky or amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.