digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Four taps are better than two?

This is the result of me spending several hours contorting myself under the corner of the bath! I will explain:

We had planned on refitting the bathroom a couple of years ago, but then covid halted that idea. Last week a telling damp stain on the ceiling downstairs reactivated that plan. The bath mixer unit was leaking water from below the bath and above. Unfortunately it wasn't a case of new tap inserts which go in from the top, and it wasn't a leaky shower hose. It's impossible to get at anything else without pulling the bath out (with all the associated mess that entails) as it's against the wall. 
We have made enquiries for a bathroom fitter, but in the post-covid era, everyone is catching up on jobs like that, so it can't happen before October (ish.....) 
I don't mind doing relatively straightforward plumbing jobs, but not fitting a whole bathroom.
We do have a shower downstairs, but to make the bath usable in the meantime, I found a very cheap set of new mixer/shower taps on the internet for under £20. I have had to mount these on the boxing by the bath as  the bath is too thick at the ends for the taps to reach through. 
By reusing bits of the existing pipe and various items from my "plumbing bits & pieces" box in the garage I only needed to buy a flexi hose and a compression elbow to finish the job. The old taps are now disconnected. 
I'm quite pleased that I have temporarily put the bath back into service for not a lot of money, but I did sustain a few bruised knuckles ;) 

Next job tomorrow is to redo all the sealant around the bath and tidy up the cracked grouting. Fortunately I've already got a tub of grouting and some sealant I can use.

I'll try and get round to looking at all your blips once I have had a nice bath!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.