This is the day

By wrencottage

Ups and Downs

I’m experiencing something of a sense of déjà vu at the moment. A lot of my clothes seem to be quite a bit too long for me, and consequently I’m spending an inordinate amount of time in taking up hems. Today I’ve cut several inches off the hems of two of last year’s summer dresses, and I’m very happy with the end result. But I can’t help remembering a time, not all that long ago, when it was my lovely Mum's clothes that needed shortening. I also remember having to lower things down from the top shelves in her kitchen because she could no longer reach them. 

So it's quite poignant; I have a long line of marks on the frame of the door into our kitchen which show how much our eldest granddaughter has grown over the years, and a growing pile of fabric strips from garments I’ve shortened, which show how much I’m going in the opposite direction, just like my Mum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.