dreaming

By dreaming

One of those days

It was just one mishap after another today.  I set out to do an Amazon return and found myself in a traffic jam that lasted a couple of miles.  When I got to the UPS store, there was a line of five people in front of me.  Then I headed up to Lex's house to pick up some things she'd gotten for me from Costco.  Now it was road construction.  I came upon two construction projects that detoured me far from where I wanted to be.  

After I left Lex's house, I decided to stop in at Safeway to spend my last $12 of Fresh Bucks for May.  That's where I usually take flower photos, but it was hard to find a good one as they've been neglecting the floral department.  Most bouquets had wilted or dried flowers mixed in with the good one.  This colorful one was all fresh, so I chose it for the blip.

When I headed out, I discovered that the gear lever in my car wouldn't move.  It was stuck in Park, and I couldn't get out of the parking lot.  I tried everything I could think of, to no avail.  I called Doug to see if he had any ideas about how to fix the problem and he offered to come down and have a look.  In the meantime I called AAA, where I believed I had a current membership, only to discover that the membership had lapsed.  So I re-enrolled from my car and would have coverage for roadside service if I couldn't get the car to move.  By then Doug had arrived but we were still having no luck.  The AAA guy asked if I had tried starting the engine, holding the brake pedal down and seeing if the gear lever would shift.  It did!  So all that fuss for something that was a simple fix, had I known about it.  I'm glad this day is coming to an end and I'm home and relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.