Darted about in full view

I think that this is an adult male chaffinch in alternate plumage. As I was running downhill towards the end of my Pipeline circuit, this bird flew out of roadside trees, and danced in the air in front of me; probably catching tiny insects. It then landed on the road edge not far in front of me, and although very active with fast darting movements, it remained in full view until I managed this photo. (Previous ones were not as good) Almost as if it knew that I had today's blip, it then flew away.

Good friends from a long way back came for the afternoon, and we enjoyed a late lunch. The last time we saw them was during the Americas Cup regatta late last year. Covid kept us apart for most of 2021, and then again for the first part of this year. Very happy to see them again.

(The chaffinch is bird 33 for 2022)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.