*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Baba Yaga's lost her hut

I used to be fascinated by Baba Yaga and especially Jan Pienkowski's silhouette illustrations. It was the first thing I thought when I saw this perched on top of a groyne!

Had an order to collect from Boots in Minehead so we popped over there in the morning. Everywhere seemed busy and chaotic, unless it's just the side-effects of 2020/21/22 where I seem more stressed than normal around any more than a handful of people. Does anyone else feel like that? I've always been easily overwhelmed but I'm definitely worse than I used to be. Had a coffee and a wander along the coastal path and around the harbour side of the town, away from the busy town centre. There were loads of bees (see extra).

Don't ask me why but later on I decided to look up who lived in this old house that we're staying in on the 1921 census, I'm weird like that. Well that was it, once I started I couldn't stop... ended up going back a couple of generations and forward a couple too. Sadly I found that one of the boys I found on the 1901/11 census who lived here was killed in the first world war. When I looked I found his name on the town's war memorial. Despite not knowing anything about him or the family it made me feel a little sad, he was only 20 and died at the Battle of the Somme in October 1916.

Really should have been a researcher/detective. I'm like a dog with a bone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.