Ouch

I have just lost a whole long piece about this and related matters so to cut it short this is the result of a very hot cup of coffee which I managed to knock over my ankles. Alan swiftly produced a bowl of cold water and I submerged my feet while watching TV. But I could see no way I could sleep - I couldn't bear the bedclothes on the reddened skin so we set off through darkened streets to our hospital which doesn't have A&E but a reduced version which was good as it was quiet and I was quickly seen by a very kind male nurse who put squidgy slabs on the burns and bandaged me up. I'm to go again tonight when the same nurse/doctor duo are on shift and have it changed. Transformation! I had a comfortable night under the bedclothes with my feet as advised elevated on a pillow. The water is the exact right thing to do for the first half hour after a burn. Clever Alan. When the children were young we used to call him Doctor Dad. Now I can cope till time heals.
Sadly the next person after me was a girl with a cut face. A broken bottle was in her bag. I think she was a self harmer. So very sad to wonder what her life is to lead her to this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.