R-100

We're having a house cleaning and sorting day. It's going to take more than one day.

I found two old newspapers we brought back from the FIL's house last year. They are both dated December 17th, 1929, which was my mother-in-law's birthday. The main thing which caught my eye in The Times was this story about the maiden flight of the R-100 airship. The Daily Mail (extra) featured it on the back page with other 'society' news, though they did do a more arty picture with a reflection. (In case mrsfb asks and/or I forget I have kept them but now put them hidden away on the top of the bookcase in my study).

The R-100 story is interesting. The design team included bouncing bomb Barnes Wallis and the author Nevil Shute. It made a successful transatlantic flight but was scrapped in 1930 after the R-101 crash.

Back to more cleaning and sorting shortly.

One year ago:
Double Vision

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.