Life through the lens...

By ValC

Everything stops for tea.

Especially cricket!

Unfortunately I missed the team playing cricket on the field. They had just gone to the pavilion for tea when I got there. Late because I forgot the card for my camera,
The shot I wanted was the Pinfold, village pump, and the game of cricket all in the one photo.
So have ended up with this collage instead.

This was taken in Tong Village, near Bradford.
I’m not sure how old the Pinfold is, but it was restored for European Architecture Heritage Year 1975 and again in 2007.
The pump with the lion dates from the 1800s.

In 2020 Bradford Council agreed to stop cutting the grass and allow the wild flowers to grow.
They looked lovely today. A mix of red campion, white daisies, forget- me-nots amongst others.
This was actually at the request of a 6 year old who lives here.
We have a lot to thank him for as it looks beautiful.

A Pinfold, by the way, is where they used to hold stray or loose animals until their owner reclaimed them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.