Hev’s Journal

By Hevkk

Feeding Frenzy

For birds that can work together so beautifully as a team when they perform their incredible murmurations, starlings are an incredibly irritable, noisy and extremely selfish bunch. They bickered and swore and attacked each other around the feeder. I counted three babies on the grass, each waiting hopefully for their meal, often barged out of the way impatiently. Fortunately they did occasionally get remembered as the extra shows.

I think the blue tits may have fledged today and we missed it. I heard the familiar urgent calling of the parents from the trees amidst the deafening squawking of the starlings. I’m sure it wasn’t a good time to go but needs must presumably. Anyway, this evening I am seeing blue tits feeding but they are flying in another direction  now. 

A pair of partridges also paid a visit today as well as the usual crowd. They all exasperatedly fit their meal times around an over excited young Jak who believes just one more play in the garden means every time I stand up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.