YoungerDaughter

By YoungerDaughter

The big walk!

We did it! We walked 58km (36 miles) today along the Jurassic coast. We started at 8am at Corfe Castle, walked down to Swanage, looped back to Corfe Castle and then all the way along to Weymouth.

Unfortunately I fell approx 8km into the walk. My boot lace got caught on the hook of my other boot and I fell on a rocky path, cutting my knees, hands and face. We walked onto the first rest stop where the medics put steri strips on my face, but unfortunately the gash to my upper lip was a but too deep and wouldn't stop bleeding. In the end, I walked with a swab pressed against my face until the next rest stop (a further 14km) where the plan was to use glue if it hadn't stopped bleeding. It hadn't, but it had reduced enough that I was happy to just keep pressing the swab against it. That's why my medal is obscuring part of my face in the photo - to hide the big lump of clotted blood that had formed! We finally crossed the finish line at 22:01, 14 hours later (average predicted time is 10 - 16 hours).

We had an amazing time, talked non-stop and met so many friendly and positive people. The scenery was a welcome distraction at times from my more than uncomfortable ankles, but it was well worth it all. Now to put my feet up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.