Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Flowers at home

Back home today and happy to see that the hubby kept the dahlias watered in the 90F heat!    After a rain shower I went out to get a photo but I used a black backdrop from the light box behind these blooms to darken the scene.

It looks to me like the deer might be laying down in the wildflower bed as the flowers are all laying over.   I tried to stand them back up and may be able to use some string to get them straight.   I don't think the rain did this.   Luckily I can't see where they are eating them but it was weird that the area looked like something has lain in it.  

In the extra is the best shot I got of the bear in the park yesterday and two of her cubs.  I used the SX60 with a zoom out as far as it would go which makes for a grainy photo.   Plus these animals never stopped moving.    At times like this I wish I had the big 600mm lens but I just can't justify the cost for what little I would use it.    Seeing the bears was just being at the right place at the right time.     It is such a thrill to see a wild animal in its natural habitat doing what it does to survive.  

Good to be home even though I will miss those mountains.   Hiking days are probably over now until the fall.   Too hot for me!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.