Myceliumme

By Myceliumme

But what about Brexit?

This photo was taken today, in a supermarket carpark in England. 

Today's good things included 
- not doing any work for my main job apart from buying refreshments for a work event. (How did the supermarket run out of custard creams and fig rolls before I got there?)
- learning when chocolate bourbons were invented (1910)
- buying yet more kit. 

The last of these is because my sister's desk sports an Apple extended keyboard and a monitor that has an HDMI port (used by her Mac Mini) and a VGA port (which I use with my 2015 MacBook Air, via a miniDisplayPort to VGA adaptor). Hence either my wife or I can work at this desk comfortably, provided she has bought a USB-C to VGA or USB-C to HDMI adaptor. (Her MacBook Air is younger than mine.)

However, during this visit we may well both need large-screen setups simultaneously. My sister's spare monitor (inherited from our brother and sister-in-law) has DVI, HDMI and DisplayPort inputs) so I've ordered a miniDisplayPort to HDMI cable and a cheap and cheerful external keyboard. There are three outstanding questions:
1. will the kit be delivered tomorrow?
2. which of us works at the desk, and which at the kitchen table?
3. have either of us brought adaptors so that my wife's MacBook Air can work with either of the monitors?

Ideally the answer to question 2 will be decided by 'wherever my wife is most comfortable'. If the answer to question 3 is 'no', more kit-shopping lies in my very near future. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.