Fragile

Last night, our dear Munni-cat had an accident. She jumped onto a high windowsill and didn’t see a sheet that I had just put there. It made her slip and fall onto a corner of the coffee table. Unfortunately, her paws were still entangled in the fabric; she couldn’t get a hold, hit the wood with the side of her body, and broke a rib.

So, after getting a doctor for P yesterday evening, I spent this morning with Munni the cat in a veterinary hospital that offers emergency services on Sundays. While I waited for the vet to x-ray our Munni-cat, I sat opposite this cat skeleton and contemplated the thinness of its rib bones. 

The x-rays confirmed a fractured rib, but also showed no damage to internal organs, which is a relief.
As with humans, there’s no treatment for a rib fracture in cats, except for painkillers and time. 

Meanwhile, P is still in serious pain. I foresee a difficult week, torn between work, chores, and nursing duties. 

As an afterthought, I wonder: Does a cat skeleton in a vet clinic count as a derelict cat? Anyway, I gave it the challenge tag - with thanks to host Marlieske.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.