Back to the blurred birds

A cooked breakfast was a treat to start the day. A good day in terms of catching up with some rarer birds.
An American duck, a Surf Scoter, was reported in Stinky Bay and off I trotted. It was there but quite a long way out and sleeping, hence hiding most of its distinguishing features. The odd movement of the head did give it away.
Hoping to build on this success, I headed right down to the south of South Uist after a couple of Red-rumped Swallows that weren't where they should be on the Mediterranean.
At first there were no swallows or martins of any form but an hour in the car and a few started to appear. With the strong wind, they were all flying fast and erratically but eventually I saw one of the Red-rumped Swallows. 
Trying to take a picture was another thing and I ended up taking photos of any swallow or martin I could, 14 House Martin, 5 Sand Martin and 3 Red-rumped Swallow images was trhe result of my labours when I got home and zoomed in on my PC.
Blurred and small, I was still quite pleased with this one which does, at least, confirm the identity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.