Camera Shy

By Wildstar

Growing up fast.

4 cygnets made it through from the fluffy and cute phase at the local park lake.  This may have been the same one I  photographed on 11th May but he/she has already started to develop that haughty/arrogant/slightly vicious look that we're familiar with especially with a full front on shot.
The complete family making their way over to my side of the lake is in Extra.
I know that we are supposed to be more selective about what we feed to wildfowl as there are plenty of notices displayed telling us.... but ...nobody has told the swans.  I took some chopped up Swiss Chard leaves and stalks and there was some bread crusts too but I intended to show my wildlife credentials in case there were any "bread" police around to tell me off.  The swans ignored my greenery and so I resorted to the bread alongside a family who had an entire white cut loaf to lob in!  Oh well I tried!  Five-a-day obviously doesn't cut it with swans either.
In other news Ginny has exhausted herself and is sleeping soundly after the excitement of two squirrels making a midday visit to my 2nd floor roof deck.  She went wild!  My quiet afternoon reading a book was over.  They scuttled along the guttering and I assumed they had made it back down the fire escape.  They may have circumnavigated the house using the guttering all round but her nose told her they were back in our vicinity and off she went again.  This time they scuttled off down to terra firma but she was still on high alert.  Now she is twitching and dreaming of how she caught them!
A good day....the blue of the park lake is entirely real and is the reflection of the totally blue sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.