Scaffolding

What a day!
Up at 7 to do a standby harvesting run for the food hub, never done one on a Sunday before. I set off to my first supermarket only to find they didn’t open till 10 on a Sunday, after a moment’s panic I found someone who brought out the donations for me, same at the second place. Then I was driving along to third place when I saw a man lying on the pavement, I stopped and ran over, first aid training kicked in, ‘is the patient breathing?’ Yes, he was snoring, so yes, easily detected . I spoke to him a few times, then shook him and he woke up, a neighbour and another motorist were on the scene by now. The neighbour had already called for an ambulance, so we got Peter up onto his feet and supported him into the shade, it was surprisingly hot. After 20 minutes with no sign of our ambulance (one drove past but didn’t stop) I decided to give him a lift home, the other motorist gave me his number just in case, and we set off. Arrived at the block of flats, but peter had lost his keys (and phone, any id and his coat) but managed to get a neighbour to let him in. I then stupidly decided to ring 999 to tell them they were no longer needed, OMFG, I got the Spanish Inquisition! Despite me saying several times I didn’t make the call, she asked me what time, what phone number, name of caller argh, then the postcode, remember I was in the middle of doing a volunteering delivery job, the venues were waiting for the food to distribute, so I said, I don’t know anything else and I’ll leave you to sort it out. She rang me back to try and ask me same questions, after arguing for a moment, I gave in and let her ask me the questions, it was pointless as I didn’t know any of the answers, then she said ‘if you have any further concerns…’ that opened the floodgates, nothing personal to her, but the system left a vulnerable person to be driven home by a stranger, she’d wasted my time, etc…
Another volunteer was having trouble at my local venue so I popped down their to help unload and then home.
A productive afternoon of potting up vegetable plants with Shyla, , a visit from Al later, and finally watering the allotment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.