*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Blending seamlessly with the natural environment!

Went to the Doone Valley, somewhere new for both of us.

The guy at the National Trust car park told us to walk along the lane, which we did, but there's a private footpath along the river which is far nicer and an honesty box which asks for 50p so we went along there on the way back. Added a few extras - the footpath along the valley, the (very welcome) NT tea room and the RD Blackmore memorial stone which reads:

To the memory of RICHARD DODDRIDGE BLACKMORE whose novel LORNA DOONE extols to all the world the joys of Exmoor

This stone was placed here by the Lorna Doone Centenary Committee 1969

Ashamed to say I still  haven't read the book, my mum bought me a copy when we were on holiday in Somerset nearly 40 years ago! Have no idea why I can't get into it. I don't usually do it this way round, but maybe I should watch the film/TV series first!

Despite having never read Lorna Doone it was a lovely day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.