WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Market Day

On our way into Skipton this morning I was about to take the boat through the swing bridge when I noticed a lady watching and smiling. She shouted to me and I heard something about ‘man the boat’ :-D)) I couldn’t hear properly because the engine is loud. It turned out she was telling me she was Mambo my Blip friend who I’d never seen before! She recognised the boat from the name. It’s such a pity we were going in opposite directions and I couldn’t stop. Neither of us thought of Blipping either! It was lovely to see you though Mambo!
We moored up near the basin and went for a wander round town, it was market day and luckily dry weather. We both went for haircuts too.
I also took my phone to get the screen fixed, expecting it to be at least £40 but the man said it was just the screen protector that was damaged so it was only a fiver! 
I love being in the middle of Skipton.
We had chips from Bizzie Lizzie’s for tea with Frank’s left over veggie gulasch.

142/365
Skipton Market 

The High Street is bustling
and it’s all closed off to cars,
the stalls are being erected,
tables, metal poles and bars,
stripey awnings and signs,
special offers on chalk boards
‘Come and try before you buy’
it’s a veritable smorgasbord!
The veg is crisp and fresh and
cheaper than the big shops,
buy a dog bed, a phone case,
a handbag or a couple of tops.
You say you need a new sunhat?
The market is the place to go
I bought a pair of slippers and
gloves and a scarf not long ago.
The garden stall is my favourite,
I can’t resist the bedding plants
pansies, alpines and lavender
or roses with scents to enchant.
Shopping outdoors is such a joy
when under a bright blue sky
the atmosphere on market day
just makes you want to buy!

Going to watch Silent Witness now.
Goodnight Blippers :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.