Mother...

……………………..........…& Child


A gentle moment between a NZ fur seal and her pup - taken along the Kaikoura coast at Ohau Point.

Mum is actually scratching her head with her tail flipper while the pup, in between suckling was resting on her body. 

The extra photos were taken at Okiwi Bay, also on the Kaikoura coast. Hinerongo, based on a local Maori woman, is one of several carvings now gracing  picnic areas along this picturesque coastline. 

This road and the railway line were completely destroyed during the 2016 Kaikoura earthquake. Remarkably, repairs and rebuilding of the road and the railway were accomplished and opened a year later. 



This is a day late being uploaded to Blip. We are in Hanmer, and alpine village for a short visit and will be travelling home tomorrow. Today, has been exciting - a day trip driving through majestic landscapes to reach our destination. As you will see when I upload my blip tomorrow.

Meantime, a very big thank you to everyone who sprinkled my previous blip with stars and hearts. I send my apologies for the delay in acknowledging them, but I am delighted you liked the ‘secret world’ captured in my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.