RichiePA

By RichiePA

Misty moon-set (or not)

I'd spent quite a bit of time planning for this shot, well not this shot. What I had planned was to get a shot of the moon setting behind a windmill on the south downs. I'd used Google maps, photopills and all tails to work out the best time and place to take the shot. Turns out it was in a feild below the downs a little over a mile away at 4:40am. So when the day came I set of at 4 to get to the spot. I could see it was partially cloudy but luckily it was the type of cloud that really adds to the atmosphere picking up the light of the moon in its hazey swirls, perfect! At 4:30 I was at the location and could just about see the windmill through the gathering mist and then a complete white-out. I abandoned the shot and went up to the windmill to find it crystal clear up there and I took this shot shooting back towards the lowland behind the downs close to where I'd been poised earlier. Ah well it was a lovely morning and a beautiful day but the early start really did punish me later that day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.