Argent and Sable……

…….is the name of one of the few moths that fly during the day and I was lucky to come across this beauty on my afternoon walk. It was very obliging and stayed still long enough for me to snatch a couple of shots with my phone. Having never come across one of these before, I had to look it up and was left in no doubt about what it was when I read that these live on hillsides and wetlands (I was walking around the edge of a bog on a hillside) and the larvae feed off bog myrtle and birch leaves (two plants very close to where I was walking). Apparently it’s name comes from the heraldic names for white (argent) and black (sable) so with all these associations to jog my memory, I don’t think I’ll be forgetting this lovely creature any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.