Moments in time

By Evie11

Nature at it’s best

I didn’t have the best of days at work today. There are changes going on and I fear it could effect my job. I came home and planted the African Daisy I bought yesterday and watered some of the plants. After that I left to find a blip. I started at the pond and there were three boys fishing there. Not quite sure what they were looking to catch, it’s a small pond and the water is a bit murky. I was hoping for a frog on a lily pad or a turtle shot but no frogs in sight and the turtles, although spotted, were quick to hide in the water. Next stop. Was the harbor. The swan was still on her nest from when I saw her last week. I took a couple of shots and as I was about to leave a man asked me if I saw the cygnets. He said they hatched yesterday, 5 of them but one egg did not hatch. Just as I turned around I caught a glimpse of one under mama’s feathers. Then another woman came by to check on them and said she saw mama and babies in the water this morning with dad. As I was talking to her I spotted a strange animal going across the marsh, a dog maybe? No, a baby deer and not very steady on it’s feet. Mama was not in sight. She called animal rescue fearing it may get run over by a car. There was also a trio of egrets that flew in. See extras. Well this kind of made up for my not so wonderful day at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.