Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

25/05/1948

74 years ago today I was born and when I was able to comprehend where I was I realised I had been blessed to have the most wonderful mother and father and at that stage a pretty special big brother.  Big Al as I affectionately call him was joined six years later by my other pretty special brother Steve.  When I reflect back on the past 74 years I can honestly say I have had an incredible life and I don’t think I have ever taken that for granted.  Tonight I’m celebrating with three great friends and my beautiful wife Mauzee.  We’re going to have a quiet dinner at Wombat Hollow and do one of my favourite things.  We’re going to sit around the dining room table and enjoy each other’s company.  No doubt tonight politics will be a much discussed topic, but I’m going to make sure I tell them all just how special they are to me and how much I love them all.  

You might have guessed that I’m feeling a bit emotional at the moment but then it has been a very unusual couple of years when visits to family AND friends has been forbidden and many people have suffered and struggled to cope with the Covid journey.   I think it has made us reassess what’s really important in life.    

Happy Birthday to all of my Blip Buddies.  Yes, I know it may not be your birthday today but for this is for all the ones I’ve missed.  

PS - I should point out that Mauzee took this photo at Hargraves Lookout this morning and no I’m not in heaven!!  Even though it was a white out it was still very beautiful and we were serenaded on the way home by a Liar Bird doing its thing and imitating a variety of other bird calls.  I just wish I knew a way of adding it to my blip so you could enjoy the performance as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.