kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

Oldtime(r) Fa(h)rt

Today there's an "Oldtimer Fahrt" going on in Essen, on the street where I get my hair cut. An oldtimer is the name used here to denote a classic vehicle and a fahrt is a trip/journey. I do enjoy the way that languages twist around each other sometimes with amusing results, visiting children always snigger loudly when they see the exit signs on the autobahns labelled "ausfahrt" and MIL is convinced that the Germans stole it from the English verb...

Justin, who cuts my hair, is an expat, and doesn't mind when his actions betray him as such. This is him, outside his salon, with his British Enfield motorbike, he posed for me because I asked him to (which delighted a German walking past with a camera, who stopped and asked if he could also take a pic) but I think all day long there has been a parade of people stopping to admire the bike & coming in to ask questions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.