YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

A Bogie

Known as a bogie in North East England but probably known by different names in other parts of the country.  What every boy (and some girls too) in the 1950's and 60's desired.  Made from old wheels and spare wood and bit of rope.  I remember young lads racing down the street on them when I was a little girl.  

I saw it at Beamish Museum today in the newly opened part of the 1950's village.  We renewed our annual pass.  We live fairly close to the museum so certainly get our moneys worth from having the pass.  Mr YB and I shared a bag of chips from the fish and chip shop.  Delicious!

I have attached a few extras including a photo of some swing boats that are know as shuggy boats in our area and an advert for trousers that I don't think would be suitable today.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.