Another Field Trip

It was a gorgeous day for another field trip, and this one brought me back even closer to home. This place is minutes from my house, and I have spent many afternoons here playing games as part of a summer camp I used to run. 

Among other activities enjoyed today, we heard stories from a woman whose great-great grandfather (or maybe there was an extra great in there, I don't remember) had built this house during the period of early European settlement on the island. I was impressed at how well the kids listened to her, because such things do not always go over so well.

We ended the afternoon with a short game of Haley Over, although with slightly different rules than I would use when bringing kids here. I'm not sure if this game is called something else in other places, but it involves a team on one side throwing a ball over the house to a team on the other side. If the ball is caught, the receiving team runs around the house and tries to tag someone from the other team. Although the original rules, which I prefer, actually involve throwing the ball and hitting people dodgeball-style. Anyone struck then joins the other team and play continues. 

I did not tell the ranger that my group once broke a window playing Haley Over here, but I did notice they closed the shutters before we began the game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.