Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Nasty procedure

Yesterday was mostly spent preparing for today. I'd been feeling unwell since our return from Portugal and got on to my GP about it. Two appointments later with blood test in between and she said she'd refer me for 'a scope'. Full marks to Beaumont Hospital who phoned me just a few hours later to do a remote triage and book me in for today. It was only when I got the confirming letter that the true meaning of 'a scope' dawned. Yesterday's preparation involved downing two litres of liguid over a space of five hours which most definitely cleared things out for today's colonoscopy.

I was whisked very rapidly through registration and so on in the Endoscopy unit and quickly rolled into the torture chamber. The procedure itself wasn't as bad as I'd anticipated, really. The general speediness continued in the recovery area, and I didn't even get to enjoy my tea and toast because I'd made the mistake of telling them that we'd be going to a local café to break the fast which began at 1pm yesterday. I commented on the speed of the whole thing and was told that they were keen to get as many people as possible in and out during the day to help reducing the backlog.

All in all, I'd describe myself as a well-satisfied customer. From referral to procedure was the fastest I ever remember for anything like this. Top marks, Beaumont!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.