Active saturday!

L, Nellie and I went for a walk in Glen Nevis today.

We met this man and his husky. He stopped to chat while Nellie and his dog became aquainted! He told me all about how he is training his dog to run with the bike and the special harness and lead he has for it. What impressed me most was that he had put a lot of thought into how much exercise his dog needs and how to fulfil those needs.

So many people buy dogs and don't think it through. In the surgery over the years I have seen many clients who complain that their dogs are badly behaved and they can't do a thing with them when all that is wrong is that they are bored due to lack of exercise and stimulation. Huskies are a breed that needs loads of exercise and this man was obviously giving his dog plenty.

It was also entertaining as he told me how the dog would suddenly leap into a muddy ditch to drink or stop dead to sniff something and send him head over heels!

Caeser Milan...the dog whisperer...... says "you get the dog you need not the dog you want" and it is so true. Nellie is the dog I needed when my knee was sore. I got her as a birthday present. We had had to rehome a Pointer puppy when I knew my knee was going to be bad for a long time and I wouldn't be able to give her enough exercise. It was a dreadful period and I had never before been without a dog. A friend who trains dogs suggested a working cocker because on the days I could walk a bit she would be happy with that and on the days I couldn't she would go for a ball or a dummy in the garden so long as she was mentally stimulated. That's what Nellie and I did for a while. I am delighted now that I can exercise her more and that she now gets a good walk twice a day. She deserves it. She is the perfect dog! Good with people....dogs....sheep.....bikes....everything. She rarely barks and comes back to the whistle. She is affectionate and loving. I definitely got the dog I needed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.