Living my dream

By Mima

Little beauty

I am surprised how many butterflies are around the property still. We’ve had three frosty mornings now, so the butterflies must have very cosy protective nests. It is wonderful to see then pottering about from flower to flower.

This is a yellow admiral: a native species.

This morning’s frost lifted in 10 minutes flat at 8.30am when the wind suddenly turned northerly and lifted the temperature up to 15C by mid-afternoon. So it was in a t-shirt that I planted trees after lunch. What a treat.

All the trees ended up being planted in the giant mole holes. I had intended to stop and do something else after an hour, but it was hands and knees work which was easy on my body, so I keep going. How very satisfying.

Bean supervised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.