The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Woodland Garden (Wednesday 25th May 2022)

There has been a gradual return of birds to the feeders in the garden, though nothing like the level of activity I had when I first put some up. There are residents like the pigeons, blackbirds, great tits, robins and dunnocks, but the chaffinches, so common a couple of years ago, are still absent. I have seen goldfinches a few times, and there is a juvenile robin that I have seen being fed sunflower hearts by a parent.

Recently I saw two greenfinches, which I was very pleased about. Neither was an adult male, but whether both were females or one was a youngster I couldn't decide.

On this day I saw a pair of male and female greenfinches on the feeders at the same time, and I spent quite a while sitting quietly in the porch with a camera hoping to get a shot through the window. It wasn't to be but I ended up with a few shots of this great tit and this one shows the small white patch on its neck at the back, level with its white cheeks, that isn't shown in my bird books.

Looks better in Large.
.
Saturday 28.5.2022 (1951 hr)

Blip #3669 (#3419 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #004
Blips/Extras In 2022 #107/265 + #040/100 Extras
Day #4445 (1031 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2812 (#2652 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Woodland Garden
Birdfeeder series
Birds series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300 mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

The Woodland Garden (May 2022) (Flickr album)(So far)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Gillian Welch and David Rawlings - Look At Miss Ohio (2003)
"I want to do right but not right now" sums up quite a lot. From the album Soul Journey.


One year ago:
The Woodland Garden

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.