... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Home: Tiny Great Tit

More vulnerable in large
Extra: Fledgling on fence

Mum rescued a great tit fledgling from Merlin's maws; the tiny tit was shocked and looking rather chewed, but after calming down it seemed as though its feathers had taken the worst of it... More worryingly, it has perked up and started hopping around but seems reluctant to fly to safety; perhaps it had not actually flown the nest before being grabbed. We've shut the cats in, so hopefully it can find its wings before immediately being chicknapped again.
I took far too many photos while waiting for it to fly off ("I'll stop when it takes its leave..."), but it still hasn't gone, so I've had to stop of my own volition.

Im and I are going away for a few days, so I don't know whether I'll be blipping or back-blipping, but I'll resume my usual engagement here when I can.

Others here (or right from Fledgling in hand)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.