WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Station Sparrows

We took Lila to the train station this morning. Her train was at 10.30 but it got to 10.32 and there was no sign of it or mention on the screen. A man sitting on the bench asked if we were waiting for the Carlisle train and we said yes. He said he was too as he is the driver waiting to take over from the driver coming from Blackpool. He went down to the signal box and was told it had been cancelled but nobody had let them know! Lila was offered a taxi to Carlisle which she refused and as the next train was  at 12.05 we came back to our house.
There was a nest of baby sparrows in the old canopy iron work with mum and dad busy feeding them, the babies were so noisy.
After we waved her off and got home Sabrina rang me just as I came in the door. We were chatting and I put my glasses down then looked for my mobile phone, nowhere to be found so I went out to the car, looked down the sides of the seats and said to Sabrina - 
‘I think I’ve lost my phone, I’ve looked everywhere.’ 
‘Mum!’ she said ‘You’re talking to me on it!’ :-D))
Frank was in stitches! I think I’m going mad!

After lunch I was so tired, I fell asleep on the couch for 2 hours. Too many late nights this weekend. I’m hopeless if I go to bed later than 10pm.

Bella was totally in love with Lila. Last night when we went to bed I heard her galloping up the 2 flights of stairs to Lila’s room and when I got up to deal with her she was already on her way down - big fluffy monkey in her mouth - as Lila had told her to go. I sent her down to the living room and we went back to bed, I was just dozing off when I heard her slowly creeping up the stairs again, I got up and there she was creeping up to Lila - still with big fluffy monkey in mouth. This time she was told in no uncertain terms to get back to bed. :-D))

2 poems again as I missed finishing them. Saturday’s was inspired from seeing our neighbours returning from their holiday in Spain the children all nicely tanned. It made me think of my childhood holidays.

147/365
1960’s Holidays

The Hillman Husky is crammed full
there’s hardly room to move 
but we don’t care, it’s holiday time 
the tent and case are on the roof.

High up on blankets and rugs,
on the back seat are Sue and me,
pillows stashed around us, we’re
like the Princess and the Pea.

On the floor beneath our feet,
in an old Crawford’s biscuit tin
is Dad’s meth’s camping stove
‘No little fingers allowed in!’

Little Ant has a bed in the back
with his action man and teddy, 
impatient he keeps piping up 
‘When will we be ready?’

We’re all in the car and about to go,
Mum say’s ‘Anyone need a wee?’
From the back come the replies
‘Yes, me - me - and me!’

Finally we’re ready to leave
and everyone in good voice
starts to sing our leaving song
the neighbours must hear the noise!

Altogether now! 

‘Oh, we’re off, we’re off, we’re off,
we’re off in a motor car, 
sixty cops are after us
and we don’t know where we are!’

Today’s poem is self explanatory.

 148/365
Station Sparrows

At the station, the trains come and go
In the iron canopy, above the platform,
among the castings, sits a sparrow.
A nest full of babies squawking to be fed
They pay no heed to the rattling rails,
pneumatics or battering rain overhead
They are snug, warm and protected 
In their twiggy, feathery lined bed.

Hope you had a good weekend.
Thank you for all the lovely comments, stars and heart this week Blippers!
Goodnight ;-)X


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.