JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Dudley No.2 Canal

I went to Halesowen today to collect a lens which I'd had repaired at the rather excellent Halesowen Photo Centre. I had bought the lens only a week before I clumsily dropped my camera onto a rock solid floor while we were on holiday in Edinburgh. I was very lucky that the camera was not damaged at all, and the lens only slightly so.

I was keen to try the lens out after I picked it up so drove to the nearby Leasowes Park. Near the entrance to the park is this short stretch of the Dudley No. 2 Canal. It is one of only two short sections of the decommissioned canal that still has water. It used to run from Halesowen to Selly Oak where it joined the Worcester Birmingham Canal, passing through the 3470 metre Lapal Tunnel on the way.

The Lapal Canal Trust is working on a long-term project to restore the full length of the waterway, but there are many obstacles to be overcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.