The second half of life..

By twigs

A taste of home

A friend pointed me in the direction of a local restaurant who, once a month (I think) make pork pies that are only available by order.  K said it was the closest thing she's tasted to a Melton Mowbray Pork Pie and those who've known me a few years will know that Melton was my home town in England.  Needless to say, our family were regular pork pie eaters (and Stilton cheese too......another local delicacy) so I knew I had to try this kiwi version.  

I am impressed!!

It is delicious, has a perfect water crust pastry outer, a delicious meaty/herby filling and of course, scrumptious jelly layer around the meat.  It's not the same as a Melton Pork pie, but it is very close and most importantly, very scrumptious!

Mmmmmmm!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.