Sunset in Paris

We take a walk in the park. It’s huge, with lakes, wetlands, wooden walkways, and benches galore. Even better, the sun is shining.

Tim drops me at Sevenoaks station before going to play his regular Sunday round of golf (yawn). I retraced my steps to Kings Cross and join the queues at St Pancras. I get through checkin with no problems, stock up on a salad, and get on my Eurostar to Paris.

Apparently I bought a posh ticket, because no sooner than I finish my salad they bring me an airline style meal - quiche, cake, wine. Eaten under the channel - nothing but darkness out the window.

I take the metro from Gâre de Nord to Austerlitz, where I have an hour or so to kill. As the sun sets I cross the Seine and go to Cloud M on the 16th floor of Citizen M. It’s a great view (extra) to gaze on while I enjoy a Ricard.

Back at the station my train is waiting. I’m in a six-berth couchette, three beds on each side, in the middle. It’s very cramped (extra) with no space at all for luggage. The ventilation is brilliant, though, and rather than being stuffy I end up needing to use the blanket provided.

Tomorrow morning, if I sleep, I’ll wake up in Perpignan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.