earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Welsh Dragon

Staying in Brecon and waking up early on the first morning of this group trip (ten of us) to the Hay Festival, I went out for a short run up the nearest hill (Pen-y-crug) to get my bearings. E wasn't surprised when it turned into a longer than intended run (7.5 miles). I always seem to get a little carried away with myself in the hills. I remembered how I was once captivated by the skyline of the Brecon Beacons, which used to be my nearest 'proper' mountains when I lived in Cheltenham. I haven't been back too often since then.

Our first event was a discussion from two photographers: John Bulmer and Billie Charity. Billie has produced a contemporary book of photographs related to lockdown and was clearly in awe of John, who talked about his days being sent around the world doing features for the Sunday Times. It was fascinating to get some insight into his process back then. It was refreshing to hear that, as an engineer, he always believed in having the best tools for the job in hand and has always moved with the times. Some of his old friends are still stuck shooting film. He has no time for any of that. He took some of Billie's photographs and promoted the virtues of digital, pointing out how some of her shots would have been impossible to take so well in his era. They both talked about their candid photography and the importance of engaging with people. For Billie, like me, that was intrinsic to the taking of her many wonderful portraits.

I'm pacing myself with events, especially with the weather being so beautiful, so E and I took a stunning walk up Cusop Hill, delighting in the views and the meadows (and another 7.5 miles) before an afternoon interview, conducted by Chris Power, with Jeffrey Boakye. It was a fascinating and engaging talk about Jeffrey's experience as the only black boy in his class and then the only black English teacher in his school. I only just managed to avoid buying his book. I'm under orders to be good about increasing the height of my toppling 'to read' pile!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.