Journies at home

By journiesathome

Elysium

My old mate DH Lawrence put these words in my head when I was knee high to a Great Dane.  

I was always in some great 'cathedral' of trees, always on the banks of the Thames, or on the edge of her tributaries around the islands, losing my virginity or going further still.

I found this place again this afternoon.  Then I dug out his poem which I hadn't read in 30 odd years.  

Bods say that DH is outmoded (hmm, yes) and his rhymes slime.  They are chokka block with mother-son shite which I didn't get when I was 16 because i was neither a mother nor a son.

 
That aside.   

I have found this place of loneliness, lovelier than paradise and I will come here until the river folds itself into something else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.