I'm a sucker for sunshine and shadows, and anyway it was the only photo I took!

I walked to Tesco, it's only a mile each way, primarily to buy spaghetti for this evening's bolognese, but also get a few bits needed for the forthcoming Cornwall hutmeet. As I came out of the supermarket I saw Steve coming towards me, so I stopped him and we had a chat. It's rather worrying, and for him very frustrating and annoying, that his inability to recover quickly from exercise - even allowing for his 67 years - hasn't improved at all and no-one seems to have an answer. We are walking Hadrian's Wall path in about three week's time, and when I expressed my concern he said that he might have to miss out stages and take public transport. Not something I'll be doing. The first three days are all 14 milers, that's ok, I know I'll settle into it - but obviously he must do what he feels he needs to.

I'm having a break from the Couch to 5k, it was completely knackering me and preventing me from enjoying walking and climbing... which this summer is full of! Come the autumn I'll start it again.

The pile on the lounge carpet is growing, I'm almost there with the packing even though I'm not going yet. I like to be ready though. I'll be going down (to Bosigran in Cornwall) to join Fi and Mary ahead of the start of the meet. They'll both be in their vans and Fi's said I can sleep in hers, she'll go up in the roof, which is kind of her and will save me having to take a tent.

Fi's newish rope got damaged at the weekend by a falling block at Horse-Thief Quarry so she's had to buy another. She's also bought a 50m half rope, which is great because it'll match mine, and Mary's, and I'll enjoy climbing/belaying with two ropes again :-)

My son and partner came for dinner later, and we had fun looking through some old photos of when he and Rose were little. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.